Florida law requires that any driver involved in an accident involving property damage, injuries, or death stop at the scene. If possible, they should render aid and contact the appropriate authorities by dialing 911. Florida law changed in 2014 when the Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act went into effect. This law now provides for a term of up to 60 days in prison for fleeing from a property damage accident. If there are injuries, the hit and run can be a second- or third-degree felony. For a hit-and-run involving a fatality, the charge is a first-degree felony and a mandatory minimum of four years in prison.
The Miami Herald reports on a woman driving a stolen SUV who crashed into a Miami police car before fleeing the scene on foot.
29-year-old Amalia Gonzales has a history of moving violations and traffic citations. She is from Miami Beach and according to records, she has a total of 19 traffic violations and has paid $5,017.50 in fines. She still owes $3,227.90.
Gonzales was driving an SUV that she had stolen from her boyfriend when she crashed into a Miami Police Department car in Coral Gables at about 2:45 a.m. on Monday morning. The officer in the car, an 11-year-veteran identified as Alain Guerra, injured his wrist.
Gonzales fled from the scene of the accident. Police later caught her at Ponce de Leon Boulevard and Ruiz Avenue. She was arrested and is facing charges of possession of a stolen vehicle, being a habitual traffic offender, leaving the scene of an accident with injuries, and careless driving.
For a free legal consultation, call (855) 529-0269