Florida has laws that govern what a person should do in the event of an accident. Even if there is just minor property damage, they are required to stop and exchange information with the other driver. Deciding to flee the scene may be something that happens when a person is scared or acting on instinct,… Read More
A hit-and-run accident is any car crash where someone leaves the scene of the accident. It doesn’t matter if the crash was a minor one with no injuries, or even if it wasn’t your fault. If you leave the scene of an accident before reporting it to the police, you could be charged with hit-and-run.
Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents are common. We have gathered some of them on this page from local and national news sources. All sources are cited in the articles.
Most of the time, a personal injury lawyer will only be called in to help with a hit-and-run accident by the victim, not the one running away. Hit-and-runs are difficult to get full compensation from, but there are options. All motorists are supposed to carry personal injury protection coverage, which will cover up to $10,000 of medical and repair expenses.
Additionally, you can purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Insurance companies treat hit-and-run drivers as a driver with no insurance. You may have to purchase separate coverage for property damage and bodily injury depending on your insurance provider. Your health insurance may also have coverage for auto accident injuries, though this depends on the policy. A personal injury lawyer can go through your policy and see what is covered.
The best-case scenario for getting full compensation is if the police find the other driver. Most courts and insurers will automatically assign fault to a driver that flees because of their negligence.
So don’t give up hope if you’ve been hit by a hit-and-run driver. Contact Chalik Law to learn about your options. You may still be able to get adequate compensation.
Any driver involved in a crash should stay at the scene, even if they feel they may face charges related to the accident. In Florida, leaving the scene can result in criminal penalties on top of any traffic violations. Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage is a misdemeanor and can result in… Read More
Anyone involved in an accident can attest that it is scary when it happens. When adrenaline gets going, it can be tempting to make a decision that can have long-lasting consequences, such as leaving the scene. Hit-and-run accidents can result in various charges. In Florida, leaving the scene of an accident can be charged as… Read More
Although the state legislature is looking to repeal Florida’s no-fault law, it is still in effect. This means that the first $10,000 in compensation is made through the victim’s PIP insurance. Since 25% of all accidents in Florida are costly hit-and-run accidents, what happens when the injuries and damages come to more than $10,000? You… Read More
There are almost six people who are killed in hit-and-run accidents every day. Since authorities began tracking hit-and-run accidents in 1975, more people have been fleeing the scenes of accidents than at any other time. One of the most basic explanations for why drivers may flee the scene of an accident is the fight or… Read More
The Villages News reports that a daughter has finally seen justice in court after her father’s death resulting from a hit-and-run crash. On Tuesday, a Sumter County court sentenced 34-year-old Natem Stonic to five years in prison. The victim’s daughter, Jacqueline Noyes was in the courtroom when the sentence was handed down. The victim, Theodore Chalifoux,… Read More
Florida statute has provisions requiring that a person involved in an accident causing property damage, injury, or death stop and exchange information. They are also required to render aid to those who are hurt. Failure to do so is charged as leaving the scene of an accident, sometimes called hit-and-run. The penalties for hit-and-run depend… Read More
Getting a driver’s license is a milestone that most teen drivers look forward to. Unfortunately, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death and disability among teenagers in the United States. In 2017, according to statistics from the NHTSA, there were 1,830 drivers aged 15 to 20 who died in auto accidents. Though this… Read More
Florida law required all drivers involved in an accident to stop as soon as safely able and exchange information. Failure to do so can result in serious penalties, including jail time and fines. Failing to stop at an accident that only involved property damage is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. Punishments for this offense can include… Read More
In Florida, if a person is driving under the influence and is involved in an accident causing the death of another person, they can be charged with DUI manslaughter. This is a serious felony charge which comes with a mandatory minimum sentence of four years in state prison. The sentence can go as long as… Read More
Florida law requires that following an accident, the people involved must immediately stop and exchange identifying information. Failure to do so can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. In cases that involve just property damage, the charge is typically just a misdemeanor. In cases where an injury is involved, the charge is… Read More
The Sun-Sentinel reports on a Broward County prosecutor arrested for DUI and hit-and-run. Last Tuesday, a Broward County prosecutor was arrested after Florida State Patrol troopers said that he rear-ended one vehicle and side-swiped another on Interstate 95 Tuesday night. 37-year-old Alim Babayev, was found walking northbound on Interstate 95 just south of the Oakland… Read More
Florida has laws in place governing what a person should do after an accident. A person should always make sure that everyone is okay and call for emergency services if needed. In most cases where there is just property damage, leaving the scene of an accident without at least exchanging information is a misdemeanor. If… Read More
Posted on Dec 15, 2010 A University of Miami student was hit and killed by an SUV early Sunday morning. The student was crossing a street on campus. According to police, 19-year-old Taylor William Emmons, a sophomore at the University of Miami, was trying to cross San Amaro Drive outside of the Sigma Chi fraternity… Read More