Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft have independent drivers who work as contractors for the service. However, the drivers are required to pass a background and driving record check, which may differ slightly between the two companies. Uber drivers, for example, cannot have had a DUI conviction within the previous seven years. In Florida, Uber… Read More
According to Safer-America.com, someone is injured by a drunk driver every 2 minutes, and someone dies due to a drunk driver every 50 minutes. Drunk driving is extremely dangerous to you and to the public. Despite the harsh treatment given to people convicted of DUI and the social stigma of driving drunk, people still do it.
On this page, we curate some of these tragic stories from Florida news sources. All sources are cited in the original articles. But what can you do about it?
First, if you do like to drink alcohol then you must take responsibility for your state. Do not allow yourself to drive when drunk for any reason. If you are a social drinker, take a taxi, ride-share, or carpool with a sober friend so you can get home safely. Leave the car at home!
If you like to drink at home, give your keys to someone sober so you are not tempted to drive. Never drink alone at home; you could lose your judgment and get behind the wheel. You could save your life.
Sometimes people end up over the limit because a restaurant or bar served a drink that was too strong for you. If you cannot wait to sober up, ask the staff to call you a taxi. These establishments have a duty to protect their patrons. A bar that negligently lets a drunk person get behind the wheel can be held liable in some cases.
The best option? Don’t drink at all. Acting as a designated driver can help you save the life of your friends and earns you the respect of the community. Some bars and restaurants may also give you complimentary drinks in thanks. Non-alcoholic, of course.
Florida statute defines the crime of DUI manslaughter as a charge that occurs when a person driving a vehicle, or found to be in actual physical control of a vehicle, and is under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance. For a driver to face DUI manslaughter chargers, the muster must have a blood-alcohol… Read More
Any auto accident that results in a fatality is both a tragic and traumatic event. If the accident involves alcohol, prosecutors in Florida are likely to vigorously prosecute the driver. One of the charges that the driver can face is DUI manslaughter. If convicted, Florida state law mandates a four-year minimum prison sentence. The maximum… Read More
All 50 states and the District of Columbia have laws establishing the legal age for purchasing and consuming alcohol to 21 years. Because of this, many states have laws governing the penalties for a person under the age of 21 who are charged with a DUI. In Florida, there is a zero-tolerance policy in effect… Read More
ABC Action News reports that a woman has been charged with DUI after crashing into a Polk County Sheriff’s vehicle. The incident occurred on Tuesday night on a road in Lakeland. 46-year-old India Williams was arrested and charged with driving under the influence following the crash. Two Polk County patrol vehicles were traveling one behind… Read More
A report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration revealed that in 2018 in Florida, there were 3,133 people killed in car accidents. 814 of those were caused by drunk drivers. In 2017, that number was 841 of 3,116 deaths. Even a first time DUI can have a huge impact in Florida. The fine is… Read More
Like a DUI charge in many states, in Florida, a first-time DUI is usually a misdemeanor so long as it involved no injuries or fatalities. However, there are times when a DUI can become a felony. The first is when it is a person’s third DUI in a ten-year period. A fourth DUI offense, regardless… Read More
Press Connects reports that a Florida man was arrested on suspicion of DUI after crashing a tractor-trailer into a New York State Trooper’s vehicle. The crash happened just before 7:30 p.m. on Route 17 in Tioga County. A New York State Police officer had just issued a traffic citation and stepped into his marked patrol vehicle…. Read More
Most of us know the effects that depressants like alcohol and marijuana have on the ability to drive. Stimulants like methamphetamine also have a derogatory effect on driving abilities as well. Some of the possible detrimental effects on driving include speeding, swerving from side to side, failing to maintain a safe distance from other vehicles,… Read More
The Villages-News reports that a DUI suspect has been arrested after a crash killed three Summerfield residents, two of whom were children. At about 2:12 p.m. on Thursday, 71-year-old Emilio Nunez was driving a 2003 Suzuki Vitara on County Road 484 at County Road 467 in Marion County. His vehicle was struck by a 1999… Read More
Ever since a mandatory minimum sentencing law was passed in 2007, Florida has had a minimum sentence of 4 years for a DUI manslaughter conviction. Prosecutors can waive this requirement and allow a judge to sentence leniently. Even with the mandatory minimum sentence, the sentences can vary widely. For example, in a 2009 case involving… Read More
In the colonial period of the United States, establishments served alcohol by a unit of liquid measurement called the dram. These establishments were called dram shops. Fast forward to the present day and many states have statutes that are referred to as “dram shop laws.” These laws can hold an establishment that serves or sells… Read More
Police officers often spend more time driving than doing any other task. Unfortunately, this gets only a small amount of time at basic academy training. It also rarely comes around during on the job training. Highway patrol officers and state police officers tend to get excellent training. When it comes to fatalities, of 134 line-of-duty… Read More
Florida takes every DUI offense seriously, but the crime of DUI manslaughter is usually taken more seriously. DUI manslaughter is loosely defined as killing someone in an auto accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Penalties include up to fifteen years in prison, up to fifteen years on probation, up to $10,000 in… Read More
Florida has laws regarding what a driver must do following an accident. One of those laws requires a person to remain at the scene of the accident until the police arrive. Leaving the scene of an accident that involves only property damage can be charged as misdemeanor hit-and-run. If the accident involves injuries, then leaving… Read More
Florida rate of alcohol-related car accidents is higher than the national average. The implied consent laws require drivers to submit to either blood, urine, or breath testing if a police officer suspects a DUI. Those injured in a DUI accident in Florida may seek out punitive damages against the driver. This is thanks to a… Read More
Florida courts take DUI manslaughter very seriously. The Florida legislature approved a 4-year-minimum “mandatory” sentence on all such charges. DUI manslaughter is a second-degree felony in Florida with the punishment for conviction being up to 15-years in Florida’s prison system. In addition to jail time, there is a mandatory license suspension for life. In many… Read More
In Florida, if an accident results from a person’s decision to drive while intoxicated, the justice system allows for two different types of compensation. An injured party may be entitled to both compensatory and punitive damages. Compensatory damages are intended to cover specific losses, including medical expenses, lost wages, loss of earning capacity, pain and… Read More
Although Florida has taken steps towards legalizing medical marijuana, it is still illegal to drive while under its influence. If caught, a person can face a driving under the influence charge, even if they have been legal prescription. Unfortunately, it can be difficult determining when a person last smoked cannabis and whether they are still… Read More
Florida has some of the toughest DUI penalties in the nation. A first time DUI comes with the penalties of a fine that is not less than $500 nor more than $1,000. If a person’s blood-alcohol level is more than 0.15, the fine is increased to $1,000 to $2,000. Imprisonment can range from 8 hours… Read More