A report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration revealed that in 2018 in Florida, there were 3,133 people killed in car accidents. 814 of those were caused by drunk drivers. In 2017, that number was 841 of 3,116 deaths. Even a first time DUI can have a huge impact in Florida. The fine is between $500 and $1000. Jail time can range between 8 hours and 6 months. There is also a mandatory 50 hours of community service. Probation can last for up to a year. In addition to these penalties, if the DUI involved an injury or death, the DUI can be charged as a felony.
The Tampa Bay Times reports that a Pasco man has been charged with DUI manslaughter after running a stop sign. 36-year-old Alan Thomas Jerdan is charged with the death of a 70-year-old Michigan man while he drove under the influence of drugs.
Jerdan allegedly ran a stop sign at 5:30 p.m. on Friday at the intersection of Lynbrook Drive and Old Lakeland Highway. Jerdan’s vehicle, a 2008 Lincoln MKZ hit the left side of a Ford F-150 that was being driven by Donn Mosier. The truck went into a spin and flipped over, ejecting Mosier. Mosier was not wearing a seat belt.
Mosier was rushed to a local hospital where he succumbed to his injuries. Jerdan has a previous DUI conviction from 2011. He is facing a charge of DUI manslaughter.