If you’ve been injured on the job, you may have medical bills and lost wages. FL § 440.02 provides you benefits you need in order to receive medical care or replace lost income. Contact Chalik & Chalik Injury Lawyers at (855) 529-0269 today to find out what types of workers’ compensation benefits in Florida you… Read More
Worker’s compensation is a complex area of law with many interests and responsibilities. This page is an FAQ page on work injuries and what to do afterward.
Worker’s compensation is a system where workers can receive money and time off for their injuries sustained during work. It’s a system that tries to keep work injuries out of the courtroom as much as possible and streamline the process of compensation. All places of work over a certain size must display information about worker’s compensation rules.
Both sides have rights and responsibilities to use the system. As a worker, you have to report injuries when they happen to your manager. Your manager then has seven days to report the incident to their worker’s compensation board. The board then decides what action should be done.
You may act in good faith, but your employer does something they shouldn’t. The board can also come back with a settlement offer that isn’t enough. That’s when you need to call a personal injury attorney. They can negotiate for a better settlement, and, if necessary, take your employer or the board to court so you can get the care you need.
If you haven’t looked at the big labor board poster in your break room for a while, read it carefully. It will have a lot of basic information you need to know to handle your side of a worker’s compensation claim. It will tell your rights under the system and your responsibilities. The questions on this page can give you more information as well.
No, your employer cannot make you return to work in Florida. Only your treating physician has the authority to release you back to work. However, if your doctor has decided that you are capable of returning to work in some capacity, you are legally required to make an honest effort to return to work. If… Read More
The duration for which you can receive workers’ compensation benefits varies, but for most people, it is 104 weeks or until you return to your previous job. Most employees who get hurt on the job miss a few days of work and then return to their job. Even when they cannot return to their previous… Read More
You should hire a Florida workers’ compensation lawyer from the beginning of your incident to protect your legal rights. Florida law lets you seek compensation and other benefits if you get hurt at work, but you can lose your right to workers’ compensation if you miss the deadlines for the program. In addition, a workers’… Read More
The simple answer to this question is no, although there are exceptions. Florida’s workers’ compensation laws are designed to get employees back to work as quickly as possible. This means that if an employee is capable of performing their duties at work, even if they do not feel 100 percent recovered, their workers’ compensation payments… Read More
Yes, an employer can legally stop your workers’ compensation benefits in Florida according to the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation. The circumstances where this would apply are if you are only temporarily disabled or if you are found physically capable of working. In the case where you are only temporarily disabled, you would receive temporary… Read More
After getting injured on the job in Florida, it is important to let your supervisor or employer know right away. According to the Florida Division of Worker’s Compensation, you do not do so within 30 days of the accident, you may jeopardize your claim and lose your ability to recover compensation for damages you sustained…. Read More