Anyone involved in an accident can attest that it is scary when it happens. When adrenaline gets going, it can be tempting to make a decision that can have long-lasting consequences, such as leaving the scene. Hit-and-run accidents can result in various charges.
In Florida, leaving the scene of an accident can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the facts surrounding the accident. If the accident only causes property damage, it will most likely be charged as a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of $500. If the accident caused injuries, it is usually charged as a third-degree felony and the penalties are increased. Finally, if the accident resulted in death, it becomes a first-degree felony and punishable by up to 30 years in prison.
NBC Miami reports that two tourists have been seriously injured in a hit-and-run accident in Ft. Lauderdale.
The hit-and-run crash happened early Thursday morning in the 200 block of South Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard. Surveillance video from a nearby restaurant captured the moment that the two tourists stumbled off the curb into the roadway. A northbound car then ran the tourists over.
The vehicle, described as a red, two-door Porsche, did not stop.
The two victims were taken to a nearby hospital for treatment of serious injuries. They were visiting Florida from Norway, but their names were not released. The investigation into the crash is still ongoing.