Channel 4 News Jax reported on a major accident on Interstate 95 in St. Johns County Saturday that closed the southbound lanes of the interstate for a period of time.
According to the Florida Highway Patrol, southbound lanes of I-95 near mile marker 300, between the exits to Florida Route 206 in Palm Coast and St Augustine, were shut down Saturday, October 24 around 8 p.m. At least one vehicle was reportedly on fire and traffic remained at a standstill for over an hour, although one lane was reportedly reopened at 9:15 p.m.
Department of Transportation cameras showed emergency crews working on at least two vehicles during the accident, and injuries were reported. However, it is currently unknown how many vehicles were involved, how many people were injured, or the exact circumstances and timeline of how the accident occurred.
According to the Florida Highway Patrol, this follows one day after an incident in Duval County, on Interstate 295 south at Wilson Boulevard, around 7:45 p.m. Friday evening that was reported on by First Coast News. The accident, described as major by Florida 511 Northeast, also shut down all lanes for over an hour. Further details on this accident have not been released as of yet.
WJTV CBS Channel 12 Focused On You News and MyPanhandle.com reported recently that three people were killed, including a small child, in a serious motor vehicle crash that occurred in Bay County on the evening of Friday, May 14, 2021. According to a press release issued by officials with the Florida Highway Patrol, the incident...
KDKA CBS Channel 2 Local Pittsburgh News reported recently that in a story which could only come from Florida, an elderly woman was struck in the head by an airborne turtle that came through her windshield on Wednesday, April 21, 2021. According to a press release issued by officials with the Florida Highway Patrol and...
Florida law requires a person involved in an accident to stop at the scene. When the collision involves an unattended vehicle or a small amount of property damage, the charge is a misdemeanor. If the crash involves another vehicle with a driver or passengers inside, where only property damage is involved, it is pretty much...
The Navy Times reported recently on a traffic accident in the Jacksonville area that took the life of a young sailor stationed aboard a nuclear submarine homeported nearby. According to the Florida Highway Patrol and the U.S. Navy, the original incident took place between 6:35 p.m. and 6:45 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST) on...

Around 8 percent of expectant mothers suffer traumatic injuries such as fractures and open wounds that typically arise from falls or car accidents. A recent study has suggested pregnant women who sustain traumatic injuries may experience better outcomes when treated at trauma centers instead of non-trauma hospitals. According to research published in the Journal of...
What Is Florida’s 51 Percent Comparative Negligence Bar in Miami Crashes?
How Shared Fault Can Change the Value of Your Miami Car Accident Claim Key Takeaways: Florida’s 51 percent comparative negligence bar, found in Fla. Stat. § 768.81(6), generally prevents an injured person from recovering damages if they are found more than 50 percent at fault. At exactly 50 percent or less, recovery may still be...

Most people know that it is a bad idea to get behind the wheel when you are tired or overly fatigued. You may fall asleep at the wheel and veer off the road, and even your reaction times and recognition of oncoming dangers are severely inhibited. However, a new study by the AAA Foundation for...

Understanding the Surge in Broward County Crashes and Your Legal Options Key Takeaways: More than 36,000 crashes hit Broward County in 2025, leaving thousands injured. Florida law requires reporting crashes involving injury, death, or $500+ in damage. The state’s no-fault system mandates $10,000 each in PIP and property damage liability, with PIP requiring medical care...

If a pedestrian caused an auto accident in South Florida that injured you or a loved one, your first step should be to call the police. The officers will investigate the crash and help you get medical attention at the scene. Then, it would help if you considered contacting a Fort Lauderdale car accident lawyer...

In most cases, you have two years from the date of your car accident to claim injury in Florida. Florida’s statute of limitations establishes this time limit. Similarly, if you are pursuing a wrongful death lawsuit, the state gives you two years to file. Failing to file a lawsuit before the deadline can prevent you...

The simplest way to report a hit-and-run accident in Plantation, FL, is to call the police to the accident scene. In addition to being mandatory per state law to file a police report following a hit and run, the insurance company will require a police report if you file a claim for financial compensation. It...

If State Farm denied your car accident claim, you may qualify to appeal that decision, depending on why they denied your claim. Many people have their claims denied on minor technicalities, such as having insufficient information or errors on their applications. So, don’t rush to the assumption that an insurance claim denial means the end...


