Hit-And-Run On US 19 Kills Two, Injures One
Posted on August 21, 2019 | Categorized: Hit And Run Accident
Florida law required all drivers involved in an accident to stop as soon as safely able and exchange information. Failure to do so can result in serious penalties, including jail time and fines. Failing to stop at an accident that only involved property damage is considered a second-degree misdemeanor. Punishments for this offense can include up to sixty days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. Leaving the scene of an accident involving injury is a third-degree felony with penalties of up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Leaving the scene of an accident involving death is a first-degree felony, with a punishment of up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
The Bradenton Herald reports that a hit-and-run left two dead and one critically injured.
The crash occurred at around 2:36 p.m. Saturday morning according to the Florida Highway Patrol.
13-year-old Tyler Shane Pittard was walking along the shoulder of U.S. 19 just south of 49th Street East. A Chevy Silverado being driven by an unknown person hit the teenager, along with an unidentified 47-year-old man and another unknown 40-year-old female. Pittard and the 47-year-old male died.
The 40-year-old female was taken to Blake Medical Center with critical injuries.
The driver of the white Chevy Silverado did not stop after hitting the three victims and continued southbound on U.S. 19.
The name of the deceased male has not been released pending notification of next of kin, but it is known that he was from Palmetto.
The accident is still under investigation.