Florida is like many other states when it comes to having an implied consent law. This law basically states that by having a state of Florida driver’s license, you agree, should you be suspected of DUI, to take a chemical test to determine your blood-alcohol level. While you legally have the right to refuse the test, doing so can come with enhanced DUI penalties, should you be convicted. On a first refusal and conviction, your driver’s license can be suspended for a year. A second offense pushes that time up to 18 months. A third offense is also an 18-month suspension.
Local 10 reports on an off-duty firefighter arrested on suspicion of DUI & refusing to take a blood test to determine blood-alcohol level.
Coral Springs resident, 38-year-old John Gratton, was arrested Saturday, January 19th on charges of driving under the influence and possession of drug paraphernalia.
Police were called to the scene of an accident late Saturday at Griffin and Weston Roads. Witnesses told police that they had seen a man hit five vehicles and then flee the scene on foot.
Gratton was found in a nearby field, with an injury to his right buttocks.
According to police, Gratton had difficulty getting to his feet and was slurring his words. As they walked him to the patrol car, he was stumbling.
Two people were injured in the crash and were taken by ambulance to Cleveland Clinic Hospital.
Gratton was taken to the hospital as a precaution. There, he refused to take a blood test to determine the level of alcohol in his system.
Gratton has worked for the Palm Beach Fire Rescue Department as a driver operator since 2002. He has been placed on leave without pay pending an investigation.
For a free legal consultation, call (855) 529-0269