A minor fender bender can cause soft tissue damage, which can continue to degenerate if you do not receive medical help as soon as possible. But the risk does not stop at personal injuries. A certain Florida law can influence the amount of your compensation, and it is important to be in the know of how you can protect and maximize your claims.
Florida is one of 15 states that requires all drivers to carry insurance personal injury insurance policies. According to News 4 Jax, before you can take any legal action against another driver or make a claim on their insurance, drivers must contact their own personal injury protection insurance for compensation. If your medical bills or other losses, such as pain and suffering, exceed your personal injury protection, then you be compensated through other avenues.
In Florida, those injured in a traffic collision must obtain medical attention within 14 days of the accident or risk losing compensation through their insurance. No matter how mild an accident may seem, it is important to get examined as soon as possible after the accident. You do not necessarily need to be seen in an emergency department, but you do need to be seen by a doctor. This will ensure that you are able to take full advantage of your PIP coverage.
These injuries may not necessarily be felt at the time of the accident but can worsen as time goes on. Getting an immediate medical evaluation can prevent an injury from going unnoticed or even worsening. If you fail to seek medical treatment within that 14-day window, you will not be able to utilize your PIP coverage.
For a free legal consultation, call (855) 529-0269