One minute you are driving down the road enjoying the warm Florida sunshine and the beautiful views of the St. Johns River and the next, you are dealing with the aftermath of a car accident. Car accidents can be scary and confusing, especially when you suffer injuries that prevent you from working. You are left with expensive car repairs, necessary medical treatments, and a confusing legal process.
A car accident lawyer in Jacksonville, FL, from Chalik & Chalik Injury Lawyers can help make this process easier for you. If you would like to discuss your car accident case, talk with one of our lawyers. We will work to get you the compensation that you deserve.
We can be reached at (855) 529-0269.
Florida’s No-Fault Laws
Florida is a no-fault state. This means that regardless of who was at fault for the car accident, you can seek compensation. Every driver in the state of Florida is required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. If you were involved in a car accident, the first step is to file a claim with your insurance provider.
Florida’s personal injury protection coverage will cover the following expenses:
- Up to 80 percent of medical costs
- Up to 60 percent of lost income
- A maximum of $5,000 in death benefits
There is also a maximum coverage of $10,000 in medical costs and an additional $10,000 in car damages. You must seek medical attention related to the car accident within 14 days after the date of the accident. Failing to visit an approved physician can void your eligibility for PIP compensation.
Compensation for Costs Exceeding PIP Coverage
If you suffer severe injuries, it is possible that you will exceed the maximum coverage amounts set for PIP coverage. In this case, we can assist you in filing a third-party claim. A third-party claim seeks compensation from the at-fault driver.
Although the Florida statute of limitations for third-party injury claims is four years, it is best to begin the process as soon as possible. Filing a third-party claim requires that we determine fault through negligence. This is often established with the following documents:
- Police report
- Medical records
- Maintenance records
- Witness statements
- Photographs of the accident scene
Some of these documents may be time-sensitive, including witness statements and your own recollections of the accident. Waiting too long to file a third-party claim can lead to necessary witnesses forgetting important details of the accident. Additionally, the responsible party could make repairs to their vehicle or roads, eliminated evidence that may be necessary to establish fault.
Florida’s Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations is the time in which you can file a lawsuit. The fact that every car accident is different is another reason to contact a Florida car accident lawyer. Different outcomes can result in different statute of limitations.
- Wrongful death: A wrongful death lawsuit must be filed within two years from the date of the death.
- Lawsuit Against the Government: If government properties were to blame for the accident, the claim must be filed within two years from the date of the accident.
- Lawsuit Against the State of Florida: Notice must be given within three years, and the lawsuit must be filed within four years from the date of the accident.
- Third-party Lawsuit Against an Uninsured Driver: The third-party claim must be filed within five years from the date of the accident.
Jacksonville Car Accidents Lawyer Near Me (855) 529-0269
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Jacksonville, call (855) 646-5468
How We Can Help With Your Jacksonville, FL, Car Accident Case
Florida’s no-fault laws are meant to make the car accident compensation claims process easier. However, there are many factors that can complicate this process. The complimentary and confidential consultation is meant to clear things up for you. During the consultation, we will get to know the specific events of your case. This is also a great time for you to ask any questions you might have about the claims process.
Guide the PIP Claims Process
We will assist you in navigating the PIP claims process. We will also ensure that you are paid in a timely manner. Under Florida law, insurance companies are required to issue compensation within 30 days of the approval date and up to 90 days if a thorough investigation is needed.
It is also possible that the insurance company will deny you when you should be eligible for compensation. Our team will also assist you in seeking medical care while you await your compensation. We can request a letter of protection so that you can continue to receive medical care while you wait.
Collect Important Documents
There are many important documents required for both the PIP and third-party claims process. We will assist you with filing these documents within the required timeline, while you focus on your health. These are just a few of the documents that we may need:
- Letter of Protection: To receive medical benefits while you wait for PIP compensation
- Proof of Expenses Incurred: For compensation of medical and auto repair costs
- Wage and Salary Verification: To seek compensation for lost wages due to car accident related injuries
- Disability Form: To receive compensation for lost wages due to a disability
- Medical Records: To determine the exact extent of injuries sustained
Represent You With Your Best Interest in Mind
It is important to have someone on your side. Seeking compensation through your insurance provider often means that they make all the rules. You may be required to seek medical care from an insurance approved physician. We will assist you in navigating this process so that you do not give up any of your compensation rights.
Personal Injury Lawyer Near Me (855) 646-5468
Contact Chalik & Chalik Injury Lawyers
Having a legal representative that fights for you and the compensation that you deserve is important when dealing with a car accident claim. Contact a car accident lawyer in Jacksonville, FL, today from Chalik & Chalik Injury Lawyers.
Call us at (855) 529-0269.