Where to Turn After a Serious Car Accident in Brevard County
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reports there were 4,750 auto accidents in Brevard County in 2009. Of those accidents, there were 54 fatalities. While this represents a small decline in the number of accidents from the previous year, it demonstrates a continued safety concern for Brevard County’s residents.
Car accident victims are vulnerable to economic loss and serious physical injury. A personal injury insurance claim or lawsuit can help compensate you and your family for your losses in such circumstances. Florida’s statute of limitations provides you with two years in which to take legal action – any delay in filing may jeopardize your case.
We recognize this can be a chaotic and overwhelming time. Below is information to help you understand your options for financial recovery.
What You Must Know About PIP Coverage in Florida
Florida is one of only 10 states to require no-fault insurance in the form of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. All drivers are required to carry $10,000 in PIP coverage.
A few things you should know about PIP in the wake of an accident:
- PIP is available to you regardless of fault – you are entitled to this compensation even if you were to blame (fully or partially) for the accident;
- your PIP covers you even if you were in someone else’s car at the time of an accident; and
- PIP coverage extends to your uninsured passengers, including children or other non-drivers.
The state, in recent years, has experienced a significant spike in PIP claims, with a growing concern over fraudulent claims. The legislature passed CS/HB 119 in 2012 in response to an increase in “questionable claims.” As such, a PIP claim should be well evidenced, and you must seek treatment from proper medical professionals to recover compensation. Initial treatment must be sought within 14 days, and only serious injuries qualify for the full $10,000 in PIP coverage.
Find a with a lawyer serving Brevard County,
Near Me (855) 529-0269
Other Types of Auto Insurance in Florida
Your PIP coverage is among the first potential sources for compensation after an accident, but other insurance coverage may be available. For instance, the state of Florida requires drivers to carry:
- Bodily Injury Liability – $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident; and
- Property Damage Liability – $10,000 per accident.
You may pursue this liability coverage and compensation from the at-fault driver involved in your crash. Other options include turning to your own Uninsured Motorist or Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This coverage is available when the liable driver either carries no automotive insurance or coverage that will not cover your damages adequately.
Review your insurance policy and that of any other drivers to determine all available coverage. A Brevard County car accident attorney can guide you in this task and help pursue all avenues for compensation.
Call or text Chalik & Chalik (855) 529-0269